Things take the time they take. Don’t worry.

We live in an impatient world.

Part of it’s because we can do things now.

I don’t have to wait days before I know what’s happening in Nepal. I can find out now.

I don’t have to wait a week to catch the next episode of my favourite TV series. I can watch it now.

If I want to make hummus, I don’t have to wait a day and soak my chickpeas overnight. I can buy a can of soaked chickpeas and make it now.

When I was young (really young), Singapore only had three TV channels and one channel showed one Tamil movie every week. The movies would only be about 2.5 hours long but it was shown in two parts. The first on Thursday night and the second on Friday night.

It never seemed odd to us then. We didn’t expect anything else. But now this would be considered absurd.

I’m very impatient, especially now when I feel like I’m waiting for my life to happen. It’s an uncertain time. A difficult time. WHY IS IT TAKING SO LONG??? WHAT AM I DOING WRONG??? Some days I feel like my impatience will consume me. I want to know NOW what’s going to happen with my life. I want to know NOW what I should do. I want things to happen right NOW. I’m looking for the ‘now’ dial.

Then I chance upon a quote by Mary Oliver.

THINGS TAKE THE TIME THEY TAKE. DON’T WORRY.

HOW MANY ROADS DID ST AUGUSTINE FOLLOW BEFORE HE BECAME ST AUGUSTINE?

The words are like a balm to my soul. Bless Mary Oliver.

I’m suddenly calm.

I’m going to go make some tea.

It might actually all turn out okay.

Leave a Reply

