Routine, schmoutine

How do people keep a routine?

I can’t seem to keep doing the same thing after 4 days. The only routines I seem to be able to handle are the times I go to be, get up and eat. And that’s mostly because it involves no willpower, it’s just my body clock.

But I read about people who get up at 5.30am and exercise for 20 minutes, read for 20 minutes and then write for 20 minutes. That’s their routine. EVERYDAY. And it makes me feel inferior, like there’s a kink with my software version.

I would love to get up, exercise, meditate and then write. That’s my ideal me, my ideal morning routine. I usually succeed at it 30% of the time. And at other times, forget it.

Like today, I just woke up angsty, testy, itching for a fight. Just restless. Now, I have no idea how these moods came about (although part of me things it’s the stupid zumba class I went to yesterday). It seems like it’s not just me. My friend mentioned he got up angry today as well and he wasn’t sure why. Maybe, I’m more normal than I think. More people probably struggle with keeping a routine than not. Those strict routinites are probably the freaks!

Anyways, I wasn’t going to beat myself up over this so screw the usual routine. It just wasn’t going to work today. I needed to do something with my hands to get rid of all this restless energy.

Enter wooden table. I scrub my wooden table (which was crusted with gula melaka from a recent party. JANE!!) and season it (lovingly) with olive oil with my very own hands.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 15.01.46

Seems to have done the trick and now I also have a gleaming table 🙂 Perhaps I will get back to my normal mode now? Or maybe not.

Life’s so much more fun off-script.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jane says:

    Oops. You can take revenge on my wooden table when you come over in June!

    Like

Leave a Reply

