#theslowlife – It’s all in the mind: a tale of banana bread and mindfulness

There are lots of things I didn’t have time for when I was working full-time.

One of it’s definitely leisure baking – that’s baking for the sake of baking as opposed to having to bake something for a dinner / lunch party.

Slightly different reasons. One, an obligation to be fulfilled and one is a treat just for one’s self. What a big difference that makes though. With the latter, baking stops being another chore on my to-do list but my own secret decadent treat.

The other day, I had 4 over-ripe bananas left and I made some banana bread (recipe here). I wasn’t rushing through it. I had music playing in the background and it was tonnes of fun squelching the ripe bananas with my hand. Results below 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 21.41.10

And I’m thinking, that small difference, that’s the whole point of mindfulness, isn’t it? Buddhist monk, Thicht Nhat Hanh  says there are two ways to wash the dishes.

“The first is to wash the dishes in order to have clear dishes and the second is to wash the dishes in order to wash the dishes.”

It’s only through the latter, when we are fully present in the act of washing the dishes that we can still be aware of the miracle of our life and washing the dishes stops becoming a chore we have to get through.

Kinda tough. I hate washing the dishes. I hate washing up so much that sometimes I’m very tempted to just eat from the pot I’ve cooked in (but then I see my mother’s incredulous face and the very thought DIES in it’s tracks).

I’ll just stick to leisurely baking.

Leave a Reply

