New project – WorkSpace / WorkTalk / LetsTalkWork

Work.

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 12.22.09

It’s always occupied my thoughts. When you were young people always asked you, “what do you want to be when you grow up?” Some people have a definite answer. They’ve always known what they want to be with 100% certainty and they spend their lives without doubt, just gunning for it.

Others have never been troubled by BIG questions about work. To them, work is just a job. You do it quickly, take the money, come back and live your life. Nothing constantly niggles at them (is this what I’m meant to be doing, there must be something more fulfilling out there…)  Or it did but they found a satisfactory resolution.

I fall into neither of the above categories. I stumbled into my first job by chance and my career since then has been more haphazard then intentional. And suddenly last year, it just didn’t make sense anymore. I want to be in a space aligned to my interests and where I can get stuck in wholeheartedly. I want a job that I find meaningful. I wish I was in the category of people who can just go, “it’s just a job,” but that’s never been me. Maybe in a couple of years time, I’ll change. Who knows?

I still have no idea what I’m doing and I’ve been on a strange and uncertain road but while on this road, I’ve met many people. People who found something unsatisfactory in their previous jobs and ventured forth to create something new and more fulfilling for themselves.

Their stories are interesting because they questions they asked themselves and the situations they found themselves in are similar to what I’ve faced or have asked myself many, many times:

How do you know what your gut is saying?

What do you do when you don’t know what to do?

What do you do when all the doors seem closed?

It seems like a shame to not share these stories. It’s not meant to stress you out but more to reassure you – that the exploration is a process, faced by lots of ordinary people. Not the Steve Jobs, Zukerbergs, Tony Robbins Type A personalities but people like you and I.

So every first Thursday of the month, I’m going to share one story (although the first one will be tomorrow to avoid the holidays next week). It’s my first time doing such a thing and if there’s any feedback you have, just drop me a note on shoba_haridas@hotmail.com or leave a comment on my blog. I would love to hear from you on perhaps, what kind of questions you would like me to ask more of or even if you know someone with a story like this whom you think I should approach. Also, I can’t decide on a name for this project – WorkSpace / WorkTalk / Letstalkwork. Let me know which one you like. 

I’m going to leave you guys with this quote from Steve Jobs that always haunts me. Haunts because it’s what I want badly but I’m so scared I’ll never get it.

Till tomorrow.

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 19.12.22

Leave a Reply

