What do you not want to do now?

I’ve been thinking about some of the worst advice out there and one of it definitely has to be “you need to know what you want in order to get it.”

Obviously there’s truth in this. But the problem is that it is not very constructive at times when you don’t know what you want. Now, I’ve met people who’ve never had this problem. They’ve always knew what they wanted and have gone out to get it. But they really are the exception.

I was having dinner with a couple of friends the other night. One of my friend was talking about wanting to change her job but in a half-hearted way and the reason behind the half-heartedness became clear when she exclaimed in frustration, “I wish I knew what I wanted to do.”

I’ve been there before. I didn’t know -> so I was stuck -> I got even more frustrated ->  the more I couldn’t see a way out of this situation  -> frustration builds up even more -> I SERIOUSLY don’t know what I want to do and now I hate myself!

What I didn’t realize then was that even when I didn’t know what exactly I wanted to do, I still knew something – I KNEW WHAT I DIDN’T WANT TO DO. I KNEW WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE.

Sometimes we are so focused on the former, that we forget to take and learn from our current frustration. And this is important. At the start of last year, I didn’t know lots of things but I started observing and listing what I didn’t want and didn’t want to do anymore and that shifted things around for me. Instead of being stuck within the frustration, it allowed me be constructive within my situation.

I was really surprised at what I didn’t want or what I didn’t like. You really never think about these things but all that observation has led to being a tad bit clearer on what I want. Definitely clearer than where I was last year.

What do you not want to do? Drop me a comment below / tweet me @shobaharidas or leave me a comment on my blog FB page (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Shobas-Blog/1482618585351992?ref=hl)

***************************************************************************************

Have a read of my other posts and if you like them, do subscribe to my blog. I usually post a new blog once a week (usually Monday) .. in case you need a Monday morning distraction.

Leave a Reply

