Take the first step

step copy

At one time or another, I’ve always heard my friends say, I wish I could just quit everything and be really free and do nothing. But actually not everyone is going to be happy with that. People hate uncertainty. We have been trained our whole lives to have plans and goals. We can have easy conversations with people who have definite things they do. It makes the world an easier place. These days my conversations with people pretty much go something like this:

Me: Yup, I’ve quit my job

Them: Fantastic. What are you going to do?

Me: Oh nothing. I’m just going to take a break for awhile

Them: That sounds so good. I’m really jealous. But what are you going to do though?

Me: Seriously, I have no plans. Lets see where the wind takes me.

Them: Oh wow. But what are your plans? Do you want to travel? Are you going to take some part-time work? What is it that you are going to do? 

This is when I usually invent something just so I can end the conversation – yes, I’m probably going to travel. But the truth is,  I actually have no plans. I feel like I’ve jumped out a really fast-moving train before it’s reached the proper destination. All my friends are on that train and going towards the known destination. Whereas I don’t actually know where I am, I don’t have a map or a neatly planned to-do list. I have no idea who or what I’m going to encounter. I’m going to have to make it up as I go along.

Yes, I’m scared but I was sure I didn’t want to end up the destination the train was headed towards. So for now this is my state of being. And I’m going to take a step and then another and hopefully, I’ll see something or meet somebody and I will have made my own stairs.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

